Events & Exhibitions on 06/17/2020

Jun
17
Library Carpentry
  • Wed, 06/03/2020 - 12:00pm to 5:00pm
  • Wed, 06/10/2020 - 12:00pm to 5:00pm
  • Wed, 06/17/2020 - 12:00pm to 5:00pm
Location: Online
Event
This event is an example-driven weekly half-day workshop on June 3, 10, and 17 for introduction to the Bash-shell and introductory techniques for web scraping. Short tutorials alternate with hands-on practical exercises, and participants are encouraged both to help one another...
ON-
GOING
  • Tue, 08/27/2019 - 8:00am to Fri, 06/26/2020 - 5:00pm
Location: Art & Architecture Collection
Exhibition
As UCSB grew from a small liberal arts college into a large Research One University, the plans for the campus buildings grew accordingly. This exhibition showcases some of the long-range plans for the campus which are housed in the Architecture and Design Collection at UCSB’s Art, Design...
ON-
GOING
  • Thu, 10/24/2019 - 8:00am to Fri, 12/11/2020 - 5:00pm
Location: Special Research Collections
Exhibition

Visit the online exhibition here.

UC Santa Barbara can trace its roots back to 1891 to a basement in downtown Santa Barbara, original home of its antecedent institution, the Anna S.C....

ON-
GOING
Eunice Foote exhibition image
  • Tue, 11/05/2019 - 8:00am to Sat, 06/27/2020 - 5:00pm
Location: Ocean Gallery
Exhibition

View the online exhibition here.

Eunice Foote was an early American feminist, inventor, and ground-breaking scientist. 
 
Foote’s 1856 discovery serves as a cornerstone of understanding the...

ON-
GOING
  • Fri, 02/14/2020 - 8:00am to Tue, 06/30/2020 - 5:00pm
Location: Learning Commons
Exhibition

This exhibition in UCSB Library includes student created work whose themes of climate change and sea level rise connect to the UCSB Reads 2020 book Rising: Dispatches from the New American Shore by Elizabeth Rush.

...

ON-
GOING
Creative Edge of Collecting
  • Fri, 02/28/2020 - 8:00am to Fri, 12/11/2020 - 5:00pm
Location: Mountain Gallery
Exhibition
In The Creative Edge of Collecting, William Davies King confronts the social and psychological impulses to collect, and also the eye-opening possibilities of the sort of things that one might assemble.
 

UCSB Library was delighted to exhibit this exhibition of King...