Events & Exhibitions on 05/09/2019

May
9
Software Carpentry
  • Thu, 05/09/2019 - 9:00am to 5:00pm
  • Fri, 05/10/2019 - 9:00am to 5:00pm
Location: Instruction & Training 1312
Event

This event is an example-driven two-day workshop on basic computing skills. Short tutorials alternate with hands-on practical exercises, and participants are encouraged both to help one another, and to try applying...

ON-
GOING
Santa Barbara Channel
  • Wed, 10/17/2018 - 8:00am to Fri, 08/30/2019 - 5:00pm
Location: Third Floor Gallery, Ocean Side
Exhibition

The Channel Islands, visible off the coast of Santa Barbara, are an integral part of our local ecosystem.  Marine Biologists from the University of California use a variety of methods to study sea life and advance the...

ON-
GOING
Annie Wunsch
  • Mon, 01/14/2019 - 8:00am to Fri, 07/12/2019 - 5:00pm
Location: Mountain Gallery
Exhibition

Viennese Operetta turned a humorous mirror on contemporary society in the years before and after World War one, providing satirical commentary on issues of the day including new technology, women’s rights, and consumerism. ...

ON-
GOING
oil slick detail
  • Mon, 01/28/2019 - 8:00am to Tue, 07/16/2019 - 5:00pm
Location: Ocean Gallery
Exhibition

This new work by Rose Briccetti was created as a companion to the UCSB Library exhibition ...

ON-
GOING
  • Mon, 01/28/2019 - 8:00am to Fri, 09/13/2019 - 5:00pm
Location: Special Research Collections
Exhibition

The 1969 Santa Barbara oil spill is frequently cited as a catalyst for the birth of the modern environmental movement.  This exhibition, which is curated by librarians Kristen LaBonte and Annie Platoff, will examine the connections between this historic disaster and environmental activism in the...

ON-
GOING
Paper Dolls
  • Thu, 02/14/2019 - 8:00am to Thu, 08/22/2019 - 5:00pm
Location: Art & Architecture Collection
Exhibition

How do female comic book creators represent female characters in body and mind?

In conjunction with UCSB Reads 2019, UCSB Library is pleased to present an exhibition that explores and celebrates female comic book creators and...