UCSB Libraries UCSB Libraries UCSB Libraries
 You are here: Home > Research > Help by Subject > East Asian Studies > East Asian Studies Research Guide

East Asian Studies Research Guide

Davidson Library, UCSB

[Geographic Areas] [Electronic Resources] [Find Books] [Find Articles] [Print Resources] [Almanac, Dictionaries, and Encylopedias] [Bibliographies]

Current UCSB students, faculty and staff: for off-campus access to our databases and electronic texts, go to: Off-campus Access .

These are starting points for you to begin your East Asian Studies research at the Davidson Library. If the information on this
guide is not sufficient for your needs, ask a reference librarian at the 1st Floor Reference Desk for further assistance or consult
the Collection Manager for East Asian studies (her name and phone are listed at the end of this guide.)

This reference guide, except for the "Find books" section, only covers resources in English. For resources in East Asian
languages (Chinese, Japanese, and Korean), please consult East Asian Studies web page, or East Asian Library staff on the
5th fl. (Rm. 5537 & 5539) of Davidson Library.

East Asian Studies cover the following geographic areas and countries:
 

East Asia China Japan North Korea
South Korea Taiwan Hong Kong Macao

[return to top of the page]


Electronic Resources


Find books:

PEGASUS     UCSB Online Public Access Catalog. You can find titles at UCSB as well as the
location and status of individual titles.

California Digital Library (CDL):

MELVYL Catalog    University of California system online union catalog. You can find titles at any of the ten UC campuses plus California State Library and Center for Research Libraries.

Worldcat -- OCLC online union catalog.  Known as the largest union catalog, its member libraries spread throughout the world.

Global Books in Print -- Contains records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books in the English language from over 100,000 publishers in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Australia and New Zealand, over 6.8 million titles in total. It also covers video and audio cassettes from the U.S. and Canada. (password required outside of ucsb.edu domain)

[return to top of the page]


Find articles:

Bibliography of Asian Studies -- Contains 640,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. From 1991 to the present, the most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies have been identified and given high priority for indexing to make their coverage as up-to-date as possible.

JSTOR -- Provides access to full-text journal articles in an archival collection of core scholarly journals in a wide range of subject areas. JSTOR is not a current issues database, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly.

Expanded Academic ASAP -- Contains records for articles from some 2,500 popular magazines, general interest journals, and scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, law, business, and health. Includes abstracts for many titles; the complete text of articles is available for over 1000 journals covered in the database. New citations are loaded weekly. 1980-present.

LexisNexis Academic -- Contains a variety of full-text resources including domestic and foreign newspapers; other news sources related to general topics, companies, industries, government, politics, accounting, tax, health, and law; law reviews; federal and state court decisions, codes, and constitutions; miscellaneous reference sources, such as biographies, directories, almanac, quotations, and basic statistics on states and countries.

PAIS International and PAIS Archive-- Provides international coverage of materials in government, international relations, legislation, political science, statistics, and related areas. 1972-present.

CD-ROMs (Get CD-ROMs at the Electronic Arcade Desk on the 1st Floor):
Cross Cultural CD (vol. 1-5)    "descriptions of life and societies around the world..."
InfoSurf   [Go to a PC at the Electronic Arcade or use any PC with Internet connection]
East Asian Studies Web page
[return to top of the page]

Print Resources


ALMANACS, DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
People's Republic of China year-book.    EAL DS779.15 .C49
Encyclopedia of modern Asia.    Ref DS4 .L48 2002
Encyclopedia of China : the essential reference to China, its history and culture.    Ref DS705 .P47 1999
Cambridge encyclopedia of China..    Ref DS705 .C35 1991
Republic of China yearbook.    Ref DS777.53 .C53
Chinese history: a manual.    EAL DS735 .W695 2000
Japan almanac.    EAL HA4621 .J37
Japan Encyclopedia.    EAL DS821 .F73 2002
Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culture.    Main DS822.5 .E516 2002
Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan.    EAL DS805 .K633 1983
The Koreas : a global studies handbook.    Main DS902 .C65 2002
A Handbook on North Korea.    Main DS932 .H36 1996
Historical dictionary of the Republic of Korea.    Ref DS909 N34 1993
[return to top of the page]


BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Bibliographic guide to East Asian studies.   Ref DS501 B52
Chinese studies in English : a selected bibliography of books.  Ref Z3106 N23 1991
China. (World bibliographic series)   Ref DS735 .C465 1997
Twentieth-century China, an annotated bibliography of reference works in Chinese, Japanese, and western language.    Main Library Z1035.8.C5 T84 2004
Japan and the Japanese : a bibliographic guide to reference sources.  EAL Z3306 .M33 1996
Japanese studies from pre-History to 1990 : a bibliographical guide.   Ref Z3301 J36 1992
Selected bibliography of Korean studies.   EAL Z3316 .S35 1995
[return to top of the page]

The Library Collection Manager for East Asian Studies is

Cathy Chiu
East Asian Collection
893-4082
893-7706 (FAX)
e-mail: chiu@library.ucsb.edu

Author: Cathy Chiu
Please send comments to: Web Manager
Last Updated: 10/09/06 03:44:40