InfoSurf Logo Indexes and Databases UCSB Libraries
 You are here: Home > Research > Article Indexes & Databases
No frames

Indexes and Databases

Subject
Groups:
Ethnic, Gender, Area Studies Humanities
Sciences and Engineering Social Sciences
Newspapers E-books
Other
Links
Quick Access to PEGASUS, MELVYL Catalog, E-journals
Off-Campus Log-In - Off-Campus Access Help
Jump
to:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


A Guide Tutorial
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)    
Academia Sinica Chinese Full-text Databases    
Academic Search Complete    
Access World News (NewsBank)    
AccessUN
Guide
 
AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive    
ACM Digital Library    
Acta Sanctorum Database    
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century    
African American Song    
African Journals Online    
Africa-Wide NiPAD (including African Studies)    
Agricola
Guide
 
Agrobase (AGRIS & Agricola)    
AIDSinfo    
Alexandria Digital Library Catalog
Guide
 
Alexandria Digital Library Gazetteer
(Dictionary of Place Names)
Guide
 
Alternative Press Index    
Alternative Press Index Archive    
America: History and Life    
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)    
American Chemical Society Journals    
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries    
American Drama 1714-1915    
American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog    
American Periodicals Series    
American Song    
American State Papers    
AMICA (formerly AMICO)
Annals of the Chosen Dynasty    
L'Année Philologique
Guide
 
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)    
Anthropology Plus    
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Guide
 
Archive of Americana    
Art Full Text
Guide
 
Art Index Retrospective
Guide
 
ARTbibliographies Modern
Guide
 
ARTFL Project    
ArticleFirst    
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Guide
Tutorial
ARTstor    
Asian American Drama    
Associations Unlimited    
ATLA Religion    
ATSDR'S Toxicological Profiles    
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Guide
 
B Guide Tutorial
Beilstein (CrossFire)    
Bibliography of Asian Studies    
Bibliography of the History of Art    
Biography Resource Center    
Biological Sciences Database
Guide
 
Biology Digest
Guide
 
BioMed Central    
BioOne    
Biosis Previews
Guide
 
Black Drama    
Black Studies Center    
Black Studies Database: Kaiser Index to Black Resources (1948-1986)    
Blackwell Synergy    
Book Review Digest    
Books in Print, see: Global Books In Print    
Business Source Complete (Business Source Premier)    
C Guide Tutorial
California Periodicals Titles    
Cambridge University Press Journals Online    
Catalysts and Catalysed Reactions    
CatchWord Journal Search, see: Ingenta Select Journal Search    
CCH Internet Tax Research NetWork    
Chaucer Bibliography Online    
Chemical Abstracts Databases (SciFinder Scholar)    
CHEMnetBASE    
Chicago Defender 1910-1975/Daily Defender (1956/1957)    
Chicano Database
Guide
 
China Academic Journals    
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online    
CiNii    
Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)    
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective    
ClasePeriodica    
Classical Music Library    
Columbia Earthscape
Guide
 
Columbia Gazetteer of the World    
Communication Abstracts    
Communication Databases    
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
Compendex (via Engineering Village)    
Conference Papers Index
Guide
 
Contemporary Women's Issues    
CQ Electronic Library    
Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
CrossFire (Beilstein/Gmelin)    
Current Contents: use Web of Science -- (Why?)  
 
Current Index to Statistics    
D Guide Tutorial
Declassified Documents Reference System - US (DDRS)    
Defining Gender    
Digital National Security Archive    
Dissertations & Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)    
Dyabola    
E Guide Tutorial
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans Digital Edition    
Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)    
Early American Newspapers    
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment    
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Guide
 
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Text Creation Partnership    
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Guide
Tutorial
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service    
EconLit
Guide
 
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Intelligence    
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
Education Full Text and Education Index Retrospective    
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)    
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
Guide
 
Elsevier ScienceDirect    
Empire Online    
Encyclopedia of Associations (as Associations Unlimited)    
Encyclopedia of Taiwan    
Energy Citations Database    
English Broadside Ballad Archive    
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)    
ENGnetBASE    
ENVIROnetBASE    
Environment Index    
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Guide
 
ERIC
Guide
 
Esp@cenet (European Patent Office)    
Essay & General Literature Index
Guide
 
ETDEWEB (ETDE World Energy Base)    
Ethnic NewsWatch    
Everyday Life and Women in America    
Expanded Academic ASAP
Guide
 
F Guide Tutorial
Family & Society Studies Worldwide    
Film Index International    
Film Literature Index (Preview Edition)
Guide
 
FOODnetBASE    
FORENSICnetBASE    
FRANCIS    
G Guide Tutorial
gender Inn    
GenderWatch    
GeoRef
Guide
Tutorial
The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online    
GLBT Life, see: LGBT Life    
Global Books In Print    
Global Financial Data    
Gmelin (CrossFire)    
Godey's Ladys Book    
Google Scholar (beta)    
GPO Access
Guide
 
GPO Monthly Catalog    
GrayLit Network    
GreenFILE    
Gujin Tushu Jicheng    
H Guide Tutorial
Hand Press Book Database    
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)    
HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)    
Hartill Art and Architecture    
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
Hearth    
Highwire Press    
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)    
Historical Abstracts    
Historical Documents    
Historical Newspapers Online    
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSCI)    
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers    
Human Population & Natural Resource Management    
Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) Archaeology    
Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) World Cultures    
I Guide Tutorial
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research    
IEEE Xplore    
Index Islamicus    
Index of Christian Art Database    
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals    
Index to Film Periodicals    
Index to TV Periodicals    
InfoSECURITYnetBASE    
InfoTrac Web    
Ingenta    
Ingenta Select Journal Search    
INSPEC
Guide
 
INSPEC Archive (1898-1968)
Guide
 
Interdisciplinary databases via NISC    
International Financial Statistics Online    
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text    
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text    
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)    
IOP (Institute of Physics) Journals    
ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance
Guide
 
J Guide Tutorial
JSTOR    
K Guide Tutorial
Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature    
Kluwer Online    
L Guide Tutorial
Latin America Data Base    
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents    
Latino Literature    
The Left Index    
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Congressional
Guide
 
LexisNexis Statistical    
LGBT Life    
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts    
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text    
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Guide
 
Literature Online (LION) Master Index    
Literature Resource Center    
LOCATORplus (National Library of Medicine Catalog)    
Los Angeles Times (current: 1985-present)    
Los Angeles Times (historical: 1881-1976)    
M Guide Tutorial
MagazinePlus    
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
MATHnetBASE    
MathSciNet
Guide
 
Media Review Digest    
Medline; see also PubMed    
Merck Index
Guide
 
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Guide
 
Methods in Organic Synthesis    
MLA Directory of Periodicals (via CSA)    
MLA International Bibliography (via CSA)    
Monthly Catalog of the GPO    
MRS Proceedings Library (Materials Research Society)
Museums and the Online Archive of California (MOAC)
Music & Performing Arts Online    
Music Index Online    
N Guide Tutorial
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)    
Natural Product Updates    
Natural Sciences Databases via CSA
Guide
 
Naxos Music Library    
Naxos Music Library Jazz    
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)    
New York Times (current: 1999-present)    
New York Times (historical: 1857-1999)    
NewsBank -- Access World News    
Nichigai MagazinePlus    
19th Century Masterfile    
North American Women's Drama    
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NAWLD)    
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)    
NTIS Full-Text (access in GIC only; ask to be logged on)    
O Guide Tutorial
O*Net (Occupational Information Network)    
Oceanic Abstracts
Guide
 
OCLC ECO Journal Search    
OCLC Union Lists of Periodicals    
Online Archive of California    
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography    
Oxford English Dictionary    
Oxford Reference Online    
P Guide Tutorial
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Guide
 
PapersFirst    
Parliamentary Papers (House of Commons)    
Patrologia Latina Database    
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County 1819-1870    
People's Daily (1995+)    
People's Daily (1945-2002)    
Periodicals Archive Online (Periodicals Contents Index Full Text)    
Periodicals Index Online (Periodicals Contents Index)    
The Philosopher's Index    
Plant Science
Guide
 
Play Index    
Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
Polling the Nations    
Poole's Plus: now 19th Century Masterfile    
POPLINE    
Population Index    
Pornography & Sexual Representation: A Reference Guide    
ProceedingsFirst    
Project Muse Journals    
PsycArticles
Guide
 
Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
PsycInfo
Guide
 
PubMed
Guide
Tutorial
Q Guide Tutorial
R Guide Tutorial
RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies    
Rand California    
Readers' Guide Retrospective    
Reference Reviews Europe Online (RREO)    
Regional Business News    
Religion Database (ATLA)    
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Guide
 
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals    
RISM Musical Manuscripts after 1600    
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals    
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies    
S Guide Tutorial
SAGE Full-Text Collections    
Saskia Art Images
Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Guide
Tutorial
Science of Synthesis
ScienceDirect    
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)    
SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs    
Sexual Diversity Studies: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Abstracts, see: GLBT Life    
Siku Quanshu    
Smithsonian Global Sound    
Social Research Methodology (SRM)    
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Guide
Tutorial
Social Sciences Databases via CSA
Guide
 
Social Services Abstracts
Guide
 
Sociological Abstracts
Guide
 
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
SourceOECD    
SPIE Digital Library    
Springer LINK    
STAT-USA
Guide
 
STATSnetBASE    
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts    
Sustainability Science Abstracts    
T Guide Tutorial
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro (TESO)    
Tebtunis Papyri Collection
Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University)    
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae    
THOMAS    
The Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985)    
Toxline
Guide
 
Twentieth-Century Drama    
U-V Guide Tutorial
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory    
UNSTATS: UN Statistics Division Common Database    
Urban Studies and Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection    
U.S. Congressional Serial Set    
USA Trade Online (access in GIC only; ask to be logged on)    
USPTO Patent Databases    
USPTO Trademark Databases    
Vanderbilt Television News Archive    
W-X-Y-Z Guide Tutorial
Wall Street Journal (current: 1986-present)    
Wall Street Journal (historical: 1889-1985)    
Water Resources Abstracts
Guide