CrossFire Beilstein logoCrossFire Gmelin logo CrossFire
Beilstein / Gmelin
CrossFire Commander logo

DESCRIPTION: CrossFire permits quick and powerful searching by text terms, numeric data, and chemical structures of two of the world's largest databases of chemical information, the Beilstein database and the Gmelin database. The CrossFire Commander software includes a structure drawing tool for structure and substructure searching of chemicals and reactions, and the AutoNom tool for generating standard chemical names from a drawn structure.

The Beilstein database of organic chemistry includes records from the mid-1800's to the present, for more than 10 million substances, 10 million reactions, and titles and abstracts for more than 2 million documents (since 1980) in organic chemistry.

The Gmelin database of inorganic and organometallic chemistry includes 2.2 million compounds and 1.6 million reactions from 1772 to the present, and 1.1 millioni citations, including titles and abstracts from 1995 to the present.

ACCESS: Accessible only from the ucsb.edu domain. Your computer must have CrossFire Commander client software installed. The UCSB proxy server does not work with the CrossFire client software. You may, however, use the CrossFire Commander client with the UCSB VPN client.

In the UCSB Library, CrossFire Commander has been installed on the five CD-ROM workstations adjacent to the Sciences-Engineering Reference collection on the 2nd floor north of the Davidson Library. Click on the Start button, go to Programs, and select CrossFire Commander from the list of programs.

For computers with ucsb.edu addresses outside the library, you must install the client on your computer. The client software is available for the Windows and Macintosh operating systems. For more information and to download the software, go to the California Digital Library CrossFire page.